NYCDC Announces Screening Panel ahead of 2015 Elections

On July 14th, 2015​, the New York County Democratic Committee announced the formation of a screening panel to report on candidates for the nomination of the Democratic Party for the four​ (4​) vacancies on the New York State Supreme Court, First Judicial District (New York County), which will be filled in the November 2015​ General Election. The chief operating officer of numerous bar associations, community organizations, and law schools designated the following members to the panel, which will report the  twelve (12) “most highly qualified” candidates  for the four (4) open seats. 

  • ​Amanda Norejeko, New York Women’s Bar Association

  • Jayasri Ganapathy, South Asian Bar Association

  • Herman Steinberg,  Jewish Lawyers Guild

  • Alice Miller, NAACP

  • Tristan Loanzon,  Asian American Bar Association

  • Noam Besdin, Jewish Community Relations Council

  • Tiffany Fountain, Harlem Children’s Zone

  • William F. Ryan, Brehon Society

  • Eric Nelson, National Employment Lawyers Association of New York

  • Jeffrey Winn, City Bar Association

  • Matthew Skinner, LeGal

  • Gennaro Savastano, Columbian Lawyers Association

  • Betty Lugo, Puerto Rican Bar Association

  • ​Leslie Kelmachter, New York State Trial Lawyers Association

  • Beatrice Lors-Rouseau, New York Urban League

  • Po W. Yuen, Asian Americans for Equality

  • Miguelina Camilo, Dominican Bar Association

  • Johanna Miller, New York Civil Liberties Union