The Results of the 2020 Supreme Court Independent Screening Panel

On July 28, 2020, the Supreme Court Independent Screening Panel concluded its deliberations and reported out as most highly qualified the following candidates:

Hon. Suzanne Adams
Hon. Judy Kim
Hon. Lyle Frank
Hon. Josh Hanshaft

The screening panel, administered by Josh Silber and consisting of Christopher Carfora (Brehon Law Society), Michael Weiner (Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Bar Association of Greater New York), Lola Omoyosi (Mobilization for Justice, Inc.), Morgan Fraser Mouchette (New York Women’s Bar Association), Souren Israelyan (Armenian Bar Association), Joseph Fan (Asian Americans for Equality), Ira Pollack (Jewish Lawyers Guild), Tracey Salmon-Smith (Women’s City Club/Women Creating Change), Stephane Howze (Fortune Society), Christine Vetter (Columbian Lawyers Association), Leneer Hutchison (Association of Black Women Attorneys), George N. Zapantis (Hellenic Lawyers Association), Christina Nguyen (Korean American Lawyers Association of Greater New York), Monsurat Adebanjo (Mid-Manhattan Branch of the NAACP), Brian Brown (New York State Trial Lawyers Association), Max Levine (Jewish Community Relations Council of New York, Inc.), Karlyne Fequiere (Metropolitan Black Bar Association), Lenore Kramer (Women’s Trial Lawyers Caucus), extensively reviewed the background and experience of a number of applicants and determined these well-deserved candidates would be most qualified to vie for at least three (3) open positions on the Supreme Court, to be filled at the general election set for November 3, 2020.

On behalf of the Manhattan Democratic Party, County Leader Keith L.T. Wright and Judiciary Co-Chairs Curtis Arluck & Louise Dankberg, and interim co-chair Sylvia DiPietro, we sincerely thank the panel and its administrator for their diligent work; and we congratulate tonight’s applicants who join the following candidates reported out of previous panels:

Hon. Carol Sharpe
Hon. Tatanisha James
Hon. Gerald Lebovits
Hon. Paul Goetz
Hon. Melissa Crane
Hon. Lisa Sokoloff
Hon. Machelle Sweeting
Hon. David Cohen
Hon. Dakota Ramseur
Hon. Sabrina Kraus
Hon. Louis Nock
Hon. JJ Kelley
Hon. Cori Weston
Hon. Margaret Chan
Hon. Althea Drysdale