Results of the 2021 Supreme Court Independent Screening Panel

On July 22, 2021, the Supreme Court Independent Screening Panel concluded its deliberations and reported out as most highly qualified the following candidates:

Hon. Judy Kim
Hon. Suzanne Adams
Hon. Leslie Stroth
Hon. Gerald Lebovits
Hon. Shahabuddeen Ally
Hon. Phaedra Perry

The screening panel, administered by Janice Grubin and consisting of Teny Geragos (Armenian Bar Association), Yasuhiro Saito (Asian American Bar Association of New York), Bobby Lee (Asian Americans for Equality), Joseph Thompson (Brehon Law Society), Maeve Glass (Columbia Law School), Albert Broccolo (Columbian Lawyers Association), Donald Zolin (Jewish Lawyers Guild), James Lee (Korean American Lawyers Association of Greater New York), Yolette Green (Mid-Manhattan Branch of the NAACP), Katrina Jefferson (National Action Network), Richard Abend (New York State Trial Lawyers Association), Jocelyn Jacobson (New York Women’s Bar Association), Ethan Rice (The LGBT Bar Association of Greater New York (Le-Gal)), and Erin Hurley (Women’s Trial Lawyers Caucus) extensively reviewed the background and experience of a number of applicants and determined these well-deserved candidates would be most qualified to vie for two (2) open positions on the Supreme Court, to be filled at the general election set for November 2, 2021.

On behalf of the Manhattan Democratic Party, County Leader Keith L.T. Wright and Judiciary Co-Chairs Curtis Arluck and Louise Dankberg, we sincerely thank the panel and its administrator for their diligent work and congratulate tonight’s applicants who join the following candidates reported out of previous panels:

Hon. Paul Goetz
Hon. Lisa Sokoloff
Hon. Machelle Sweeting
Hon. Dakota Ramseur
Hon. Sabrina Kraus
Hon. Louis Nock
Hon. JJ Kelley
Hon. Cori Weston
Hon. Margaret Chan
Hon. Althea Drysdale
Hon. Lyle Frank