On Thursday, September 29th, the Manhattan Democratic Party held the 2022 County Committee Organizing Meeting in order to elect County Committee leadership, fill County Committee vacancies, and advance rule changes to strengthen our party and better align us with our progressive values.

“As the County Committee of the Manhattan Democratic Party, you all are the eyes and ears across the borough. You know the issues that are most important to the diverse communities you represent; and, as such, you are closer to the solutions,” said County Leader Keith L.T. Wright. “Our party is stronger for your engagement — and in case no one else does, allow me to Thank You immensely for your service to the Party, our County, and the great State of New York.”

The meeting, which took place at Denny Farrell Riverbank State Park, opened with remarks by County Leader Keith L.T. Wright, Lieutenant Governor Antonio Delgado, and announcements by District Leaders Kim Moscaritolo and Jennifer Hoppe about ways Democrats across the borough can get engaged in this year’s critical elections.

After a series of nominations and votes, the duly-elected and appointed Members of the County Committee voted to fill hundreds of vacancies across the borough, and elected the following individuals to serve on County Committee leadership:

• Chair of the County Committee | Domenico Minerva
• 1st Vice Chair of the County Committee | Kyle Ishmael
• 2nd Vice Chair of the County Committee | Louise Dankberg
• 3rd Vice Chair of the County Committee | Kelmy Rodriguez
• Secretary of the County Committee | Barry Weinberg
• Treasurer of the County Committee | Charlette Mimiasie
• Vice Treasurer of the County Committee | Sharase DeBouse
• Sergeant-at-Arms of the County Committee | Senator Robert Jackson
• Parliamentarian of the County Committee | Darren Marks

Additionally, in light of the Gender Inclusive Ballot Act recently signed into law by Governor Kathy Hochul, the County Committee voted to establish rules that allow for individuals who do not exclusively identify as a binary gender to serve as District Leaders. At a time when Republicans in New York and across the nation are seeking to roll back LGBTQ rights, the Manhattan Democrats are proud to lead the effort to increase rights and protections for all Democrats in Manhattan, and encourage democratic engagement that does not intentionally or effectively disenfranchise any residents. On behalf of County Leader Keith L.T. Wright, Chairman Domenico Minerva, and the entire Manhattan Democratic Party, we are thankful for the hard work of the Rules Committee and the leaders who brought this law and rule-change to fruition:

• Kyle Ishmael | Executive Director, Manhattan Democratic Party
• Chung Seto | Rules Committee Chair, Manhattan Democratic Party
• David Siffert | Legislative Affairs Committee Chair, Village Independent Democrats
• Emilia Decaudin | State Committee Member, 37th Assembly District
• Senator Zellnor Myrie | Senate Bill Sponsor, 20th Senate District
• Assemblymember Jessica Gonzalez-Rojas | Assembly Bill Sponsor, 34th Assembly District
• Paula Diamond Román | Democratic District Leader, 69th Assembly District
• Arthur Schwartz | Democratic District Leader, 66th Assembly District
• John Blasco | Former Democratic District Leader, 74th Assembly District
• Marti Cummings | Political Activist & Advocate
• Zachariah Boyer | Brooklyn, NY
• Carlyn Cowen | Manhattan, NY
• Alana Sivin | Manhattan, NY